Little Bit About Myself

Of course the short version is on the About the Author Page but I think I will take  a bit of a Narcasistic dive here and tell you a little bit about myself.

I am the product of many military generations.  My dad fought in Vietnam, my grandfather in Korea, my great uncle in World War Two, my great grandfather in World War One and have a great great that fought in the Civil War (for the north of course).  My dads family even has a few IRA ties that they still brag about today.  I was born in San Antonio Texas on Lackland AFB, moved to Brooks AFB then to Beebe Arkansas where I have been a resident since.

I spent four years at Harding University as a Bible major, then a Social Sciences major.  This summer however, I followed my fiance to Fayetteville where she is starting law school at the University of Arkansas and I am finishing my last bit of undergrad in history before I start work on my Master’s Degree in Education.  Someday I hope to be a teacher.  Finally I want to be the director of an overseas program, preferably affiliated with Harding University.

I have visited around fifteen countries including extended stays in Nicaragua and Greece.  These opportunities were made possible by my time at Harding.

I love to take pictures.

I love to read.  At any one time I am working through about five or ten books.  At the moment I am reading Josephus, Reinventing Paul, Mythology, and will someday finish A Brave New World.   I will, I am sure write often about the things that I am reading.  I would also like to take this time to say it is a damn shame that Reading Rainbow could not get enough money to stay on the air.

Finally, I am just a student who is looking for the best way to make the biggest impact possible for Jesus in the world.  I have been doing that one person at a time for a while and that seems to be working pretty well.  May even be the way it was intended.  Sometimes I get a little caught up and am not as Christ-like as I should be, I encourage you to call me out and correct me if you ever see that happening here.

I am still a proud member of Downtown Church of Christ in Searcy, if only in spirit.  Here in Northwest Arkansas I am attending Robinson Avenue Church of Christ and it has been a good spiritual home for me thus far.  I am also a fanatic listener of Mark Driscoll’s sermons from Mars Hill Church in Seattle. Lessons and ponderings from these churches will probably make up much of my content as well.

Finally, many of my favorite blogs belonging to friends of mine can be found on the right side of the screen.  Many of these belong to people much older and wiser than me so if you are looking for something truely thought-worthy I encourage you to look to them instead.

Grace and Peace,

Tags: ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

2 responses to “Little Bit About Myself”

  1. rogueminister says :

    Mark Driscoll, Really?!?! Yuck…

  2. coleyoakum says :

    Ha! Hate all you want, but I found him at a very needed time in my life and have enjoyed and learned a lot from Mars Hill.

Leave a Reply

