Good Cause Wednesday #1

hero10[1]

Welcome to a new running section of the blog that I am going to call Good Cause Wednesday.  Here, each week I will run down and give you a littel bit of information about a good group or organization that is out there making a difference for people in the world.  If you’ve any suggestions, let me know and I would be glad to feature it.

Good Cause Wednesday’s first organization is Wishing Well.  Wishing Well is an organization that drills wells in countires around the world to bring fresh clean water to communities that didn’t have it before.  They are a non-profit that is closely tied to Oklahoma Christian University, but is affiliated with many schools and many walks of life. 

Due to the fact that it is a non-profit, student organized and sponsored by OCU, a your whole dollar ends up in a well project.  This is much larger than the 42 cents that ends up in Africa if you donate to Invisible Children.

My passionate friend Sarah Kyle is closely affiliated with Wishing Well at Harding, and has helped plan benefit concerts featuring Searcy artists to raise money for the projects.  When I asked her if she had any suggestions she encouraged me to check out the video One Drop which is their fundrasing documentary about their projects. 

Grace and Peace

Tags: ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

