Dreaming About Work

pierone

I know that everyone must have some sort of dreams that they have about their jobs, right?

Not long ago I had my first Pier One dream.

I was the only associate at work that day, and I was in the very back of the store, stacking chairs on top of each other.  I heard the dinger go off at the front of the store, which indicates that someone has just walked in.  Now, at Pier One we are trained to quickly meet the customer at the door and ask them if they need anything.  So, I took off to scoot around the outside of the store to meet them in a timely fashion, but everywhere I turned there was furniture in my path.  I was blocked in, I could not get to the customer!

I was freaking out.  All the while the (awful) mix cd was playing one of the songs over and over again and I was so sure that I was going to get fired for not greeting a customer fast enough.

Then I woke up.

I confided in a co-worker of mine named Anne Marie who trained with me.  I told her, “So, I had my first Pier One dream the other night…” just to test the water.  She spun around and looked at me saying, “Oh my Gosh!  I have had one every single night since we started.  The cd is always playing the same song and I am always stocking shelves hoping that I don’t get fired.”

i want to see a study in the correlation between high-stress jobs and bad dreams about being at work.  Do night-time parking-lot attendants dream about their jobs?

Tags: , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

2 responses to “Dreaming About Work”

  1. Katie Holmes says :

    I really think there is a significant correlation between high stress jobs and bad dreams about work. I spent the better part of 8 years working in either fast food or retail (both, for part of the time), and I had terrible dreams about them all the time. In fact, when I’d be falling asleep I’d almost always be dreaming about customers, and I had to remind myself that I wasn’t at work and I didn’t have to worry about helping them. The dreams were even worse when I was working with sexually abused kids. I had dreams about them nearly every night.

    I don’t think I’ve had a single dream about work since I’ve been working at the library. I definitely think the stress factor has a lot to do with it.

  2. coleyoakum says :

    Oh, I am sure there is some kind of correlation. I know I had that problem in school a lot. I would dream a lot about a class that was hard, or a paper that I had spent hours writing and lost before I could turn it in.

    Why don’t you ever have dreams about classes you enjoy. It would be like a double dose of greatness!

Leave a Reply

