Wedding Photography

2690519434_78e5f3e952

Soon I am taking off to Broken Arrow, Oklahoma to take wedding pictures for a friend.

It is an outdoor shindig with only close friends and family attending.  The wedding will be outside, lest weather prohibits.  I am excited about the opportunity, but am scared of disaster.

Wedding are big days, big days with important pictures.  I have taken a lot of pictures at weddings before, but never been anyone’s only photographer.  This is very stressful.  I have spent a couple hours over the past week flipping through bridal magazines at Barnes and Noble, trying to wrap my head around everything I will be doing.

I have also been spending a lot of time around my camera in preparation for everything that I will be doing.  Other than that, I feel like there is little that I can do to prepare.

I will be taking two cameras:  My Canon EOS 20D and my Canon Powershot SD630. I am really comfortable with both of them and have taken them both around the world with me.  I am sure my shot count on both of them is well above 10,000.

But like I said, I am still quite nervous about the event.  Despite the picture above, the bride has actually been really great.  She has given me full run of everything, even saying that I might not be doing a good job if I am not in the way every once in a while.  This is of some comfort. She has been very reassuring.  I think I am more nervous about it than she is…

I am sure I will be posting pictures after the weekend, but until then… any advise?

Tags: , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

3 responses to “Wedding Photography”

  1. Katie Holmes says :

    I’ve always heard that one of the most important shots to get is the husband’s face when he first sees the bride coming down the aisle. It’s usually a pretty great face!

    Honestly, the best thing that our photographer did was take candid pictures in addition to posed. The formal pictures are great, but there are so many little moments that candid pictures can capture. They’re my favorites of all of our wedding pictures.

    You have a great talent, and I think you’ll do a great job!

    • Angela says :

      Ditto to Katie’s comment about the groom’s face when he sees the bride. I about feel over in tears when I saw Jacob Edward’s face as Laura came down the aisle. In fact, I’m tearing up just thinking about it! This is tricky because you obviously MUST get the bride coming down the aisle as well. And you have to be sneaky…if the groom knows you’re watching him he may not have a natural response.

      DON’T tell stupid jokes/say stupid things to try and get people to smile. It will just make them think you’re an idiot. It’s a wedding…people are happy…they will smile when appropriate.

      One of my favorite pics…The photographer had Jimmy and I hug. I was on a step above him and she was photographing from behind him. In my hand she placed the marriage certificate and she signaled for me to give the “thumbs-up” with my other hand. I had a huge smile, everyone was laughing, and Jimmy was clueless because he didn’t know what was going on behind his back!

  2. coleyoakum says :

    Okay, be tricky with the groom, Got it!

    And put away my wide array of bad jokes. I don’t think I would do that anyway, but thanks for the warning.

    Aww Ang, that sounds like a really cool picture.

Leave a Reply

