Death Becomes Him

Recently, in celebration of his 200th birthday, Edgar Allen Poe was given another funeral

EAP%20II[1]Poe-ites of late have grown unhappy with the death he suffered in 1849.  From the Baltimore Sun:

“Though already a distinguished writer at the time of his death, Poe died unexpectedly and largely destitute, and his original funeral is said to have been attended by only a handful. His death was announced on page 2 of The Sun on Oct. 8, 1849, meriting just one paragraph.”

This funeral, however, was different.  Artists, writers, actors and fans of all ages as well as some people sporting “Evermore” t-shirts gathered at the new funeral, which was carried out with a fake body. 

Video can be seen here.

I have always very much liked Poe.  Wish I could have been in attendance. 

I hope to one day be able to teach others about Poe.  Though met with limited acclaim in his time I think that it was his death that provided the lens with which we look back on his work.  I don’t think that The Raven has as much power if Poe lived a happy succesful life.  He, like so many authors, lent credence to his work through his death. 

I hope that his funeral stands as an example of his work and influence that will last, evermore.

Tags: , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

