Cancer

I have two friends right now: one with whom I am hardly acquainted, another that I was blessed enough to live with and work for a few summers ago. 

Both are dealing with and fighting extreme cancers. 

Both have families.

Both are under the age of fifty.

My friend Kim Ledford and I would always joke.  I’d ask her, “How was your day?”  She’d say, “Could have been better.  I could have met Jesus today.”

I would alway laugh and say, “I can’t meet him yet!  I have things I want to get done.”  I am sure that I will be saying that at 30…40…70.  I have heard you never really get your priorities straight until you are told exactly how long you have to live.  That’s when everything comes into focus.

I know that my friends are both spending many of their waking hours with friends and family.  I am sure they are out doing the things that they have been wanting to do, but have been letting life get in the way. 

I got thinking on this because of a video that I found on facebook about a guy named Zac.  Here is his story. 

I don’t know what this post is supposed to do.  Or what I am encouraging myself and others to do…  Straighten out our priorities, yeah.  Remember those in similar situations, of course.  But I feel like there is something deeper going on inside me as I listen to Zac, as I think of my friends, as I think about the prospect of my own priorities being re-aligned by some event. 

If you feel compelled to leave a comment or thought.  Please do so.

Tags: , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

