Hitch Hiking Homies

I love to pick up hitch-hikers.  It is kind of my thing.

Recently, now that I am engaged and have some one in my life who constantly worries about me (it’s her love language),  I have to text her and let her know when I am picking up a hiker.  I tend to think that this leads to more worry, but she says it is just nice to know when I am doing risky things.

This weekend, as I was on my way home from Beebe, I passed a guy carrying a big green duffel, a tell-tale sign.  I slowed down and stopped on the side of interstate 40.  He caught up and climbed in.

His name was Dale and Dale was much more conversational than the average hiker.  Some of them are alone so long and so often that they kind of lose touch with how to talk to others.  Not Dale, he was starved for conversation.  We talked about a lot of things.  We talked about the economy, the president, the war(s), his family, my family, where we came from and where we were going.

He was going to Oklahoma.  He heard in a mission that he was staying at the Immigration was doing random checks of farm hands, and that many farmers there were worried about getting in trouble for hiring illegal aliens.  “Soon as I heard ‘at I packed up my bag and said, see ya!”  He had been traveling for two weeks from Knoxville, Tennessee.  I told him I had a friend from Kingsport which is near there and he was surprized.  “I had to hike through there.  It was an accident, but I was there recently!”

I have said it a few times before, but to me that just sounds like a cool way of life.  He heard there was work in some part of the country so he packed up all of his things and started walking toward it.  He had made it to Russelville in two weeks.  There is no telling how long the person who told him that had been walking from where ever he was.  That could have been two weeks also.  So a month ago there was some work in Oklahoma, and my man Dale is just now getting there.

I think of that life-style and think about Abraham.  God just says, “Abe, pack up your stuff and go here,” so he does.  I think of Jesus who says that he has no place to lay his head.  Just walking.  Relying on others.  Giving others (like me) the opportunity to help however we can.

I could only take Dale a short way.  I drove him about an hour from Russelville to Alma where he had heard of a shelter and was just going to try to find it.  “If not,” he said. “I hear there are some good over-passes in Alma.  Then I’ll keep going tomorrow.”

Good Luck in Oklahoma buddy.  I hope you get where you are going.

Tags: , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

