Peace Prize from the Past

portrait_hr2

With all of this talk about Obama’s Nobel Peace Prize going on, I think that today I will talk about another Peace Prize Winner.

Today marks the 25th Anniversary of Desmond Tutu’s Nobel Peace Prize win.

Desmond Tutu was a cleric in 1980s South Africa.  Tutu became a harsh critic of South African apartheid (a more hardcore version of American segregation).  Once segregation ended Tutu used his influence to promote further causes of peace, justice and equality for all people.

For anyone who has been able to read his books, he is an inspiration.  And for anyone who has ever seen him speak he is quite moving.

I don’t know how you feel about what the Peace Prize means today, but I think we can all agree that this is one man who deserved it.  I leave you now with the qualifications and criteria for the Nobel Peace Prize:

“[The winner] shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses…”

Tags: , , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

