Cancer: Revisited

Not long ago I mentioned that I have two friends who are fighting cancer.  Well today, one of them was called up.

Scott McEndree was from the twin cities area of Minnesota.  He worked a normal job, but that wasn’t really his passion.  More than anything he loved his wife and kids.  Secondly, he loved serving God by showing his love to other kids. 

That is how I met him.  In the summer of 2006 I was a camp counselor at Flaming Pine Youth Camp in Cookville Minnesota.  I was hooked up with a job there by a couple friends of mine.   One of the first people I met there was Scott.  One of the things he told me while I was there was that I was a person with a reputation that proceeded them.  That he had heard about me long before I was ever considered for the job there and that he was excited to meet me. 

For some reason that summer Scott defaulted to me for a lot of things.  He gave me the cabin with the trouble kids because he said he thought I could teach them something.  He asked me to talk to kids who were going through hard times at home because he thought I’d be a good person to talk to.  And when a kid was having some trouble and said, “I only want to talk to Coleman” he made sure to point out that the kids saw in me what he had seen all along. 

Scott did a lot to give me the confidence I have when working with people–especially teens.  He always wanted me to come back to camp, but I never got the chance. 

My story is not spectacular, or unique.  His facebook wall is littered and over-flowing with people writing things much more moving than this about how he changed their lives and showed them Jesus.  Most of these people, not surprisingly, are kids from camp who have all benefitted from his devotion to the Lord in that place.

He will be missed.

Tags: , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

5 responses to “Cancer: Revisited”

  1. Angela says :

    Coleman, I’m so sorry for the loss you must be feeling right now. Clearly this man was a good friend who had a significant impact on your life. I know that you’ll never forget the lessons you learned from him and that through your actions his legacy of love and compassion will live on.

  2. Melissa says :

    Hey,

    You don’t know me, but I just happened to stumble across your blog. I am Scott’s cousin from St. Louis, MO.

    I just wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful and honest things about my cousin. He was truly an amazing man, a great friend and a wonderful father.

    The past couple days have been pretty hard on the family, but we love reading about all the cool things he did while he was here. It’s awesome to know that he will be remembered in such a great way by so many people!

    Thanks again!
    melissa :)

  3. coleyoakum says :

    Melissa,
    Scott was a great guy who did so many great things for so many people.

    I am sure so many of the prayers going up right now are prayers of thanks for his life and work. Prayers are also going up for the family and friends he left behind.

    I went back to Harding tonight, and even there I was stopped by four different friends who were all campers at teen camp. We all sat around telling stories and asking about updates and remarking about how great of a person he was and how we had all been personally impacted by him. I am sure these conversations are going on all over the place right now and that is a cool thing. In places we cannot imagine there are people sitting around talking about their friend Scott and all the things he did in his lifetime and all the people he helped.

    I think that gives us something to live up to.

  4. Wayne Youngblood says :

    Cole, you don’t know me either but I really appreciated reading your recollections of Michael Scott McEndree. Scott was my nephew and he was loved dearly by all of his family from early childhood. We particularly relished seeing him mature, marry and enjoy his 4 children. Scott loved his God, family, friends and life; we grieve because his time was cut short, but we know his time was used wisely.
    Wayne Youngblood, Mayfield, KY

  5. coleyoakum says :

    Wayne, thank you for your memories of Scott. He always struck me as someone who was always happy with the things he was doing. His family, his work, his time at FPYC and with teens: He was always enjoying himself. And when you say wisely, I cannot think of any better word for it. He was always doing things that he enjoyed. That is a full life, and something to strive for.

Leave a Reply

