War-Time Wisdom

I have been playing over and over again a lecture by a guy named Peter Kreeft.  Kreeft is a professor of Philosophy at Boston College.  He is an extensive writer and a great thinker and synthesizer of millenia of philosophy and thought. 

On top of being an academic, he is also clever and humorous. 

A few years ago, on recommendation I downloaded a lecture he gave called “Wartime Wisdom: Ten Uncommon Insights about Evil in Lord of the Rings.”  You can read it here.  Or, as it is meant: heard.

It is a spiritual message right up my alley:  nerdy, thoughtful, theological, inspiring, educated and just enjoyable.  I don’t know if you’ll enjoy it as much as I did, but I am putting it up here for those who’d be interested.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

3 responses to “War-Time Wisdom”

  1. Lisa says :

    Have I ever told you about our most set-in-stone Christmas tradition? The one my kids ask about the earliest? (When are we going to start, Mama? When are we going to start?)

    We watch all three Tolkien movies. Extended versions.

    We usually do Fellowship a couple of days before Christmas, Towers on Christmas Eve, and Return on Christmas Day or the day after. We have occasionally stretched it out and done one a week, but it loses a bit of its effect.

    It’s really a great tradition. You and Logan should do it too. Start your family unit off on the right track. ;-)

  2. Lisa says :

    By the way, do you know how I can get an image up instead of the green tile looking thing?

  3. coleyoakum says :

    Lisa,
    I am having a couple conversations right now in different social networks about Lord of the Rings. I was just telling Jessica Merril about the day that Logan turned to me and said, “You know, we should get the extended editions of Lord of the Rings.” I looked right back at her and said, “You have never looked so good.”

    We were also just talking about watching them again this month. I don’t know if we will have the time (especially with e working retail) to watch them all in a week, but we will watch them all before next semester.

    As far as your tiles… I don’t know. I will fiddle around and see if I can get you an answer.

Leave a Reply

