My Grandfather

Like a lot of kids growing up, I always loved going to my grandparents house.

They weren’t the type to spoil or anything like that, they just lived a completely different life than I was used to at home.  He had huge land with lots of woods, four wheelers, cattle, creeks, rivers and all sorts of trouble for a kid to get into.  He was much more comfortable than I would be just throwing me on a four-wheeler at twelve years old and saying, “See you at dinner.  Go where ever!”

When I got a little older my grandfather and I took several road trips together to see relatives in Pennsylvania.  We fished that Allegheny, he showed me the spots that he trapped with his older brother to make it though the Great Depression.  He drove me all over small towns that he helped build in the late 1940s. 

I really love and enjoy my grandfather, even still.  He is getting old, and caring less and less what people think about him which makes him even more funny in my mind.

He turned 80 years young yesterday.

Tags: , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

