Religion at U of A

A recent front page article in the The Traveler, the University of Arkansas newspaper, caught my eye the other day. 

The story, “UA Offers Diverse religious Groups on Campus” was the front page of the December 2, 2009 issue.  The story was basically just a piece describing the different groups that are on campus. 

I have a few friends that I see from time to time who are Muslim.  I have yet to attend or meet anyone involved in the Hindu groups that are mentioned at the bottom of the page, but would very much like to.  What I really want to do is kick it with some Sikhs again.  Those were the good times.

Most of the groups on campus seem more interested in awareness and educating people over their religion, not as much concerned with conversion or evangelistic efforts. 

Anyway, just wanted to share this piece.  I thought it was interesting. 

I’ll let you know about Islamic Awareness week next semester.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

2 responses to “Religion at U of A”

  1. Katie Holmes says :

    Hey, maybe you can make more Sikh friends who let you put the Adi Granth to bed. ;-)

    I like the article. It’s nice to see that there can still be so much diversity, even in a place where one might assume there wouldn’t be.

    • coleyoakum says :

      That would be awesome Adi and I have not seen each other in a long time.

      “Assume” is the key word. Fayetteville is a pretty hip and diverse place. With Bentonville right up the road much of this diversity isn’t just transient college students either.

Leave a Reply

