Book Review: Food Rules

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have just finished reading Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual by Michael Pollen.

I was tipped off about this book by an interview he did on The Daily Show.  I thought it sounded interesting.  I also had seen and thumbed through several of his other books including In Defense of Food which is kind of a history of the food industry.  I was also sent an article by him that can be found in my Interesting Reads tab at the top of my blog. 

This book is easy.  It is 64 rules to think about when eating and shopping for food.  This is a book you can read in an hour and a half.  It is full of basic and easy information that can help you guide your consumption.  Some of these things are pretty basic. 

A few of my favorite rules were: 

Don’t Eat Cereal that Colors Your Milk. 
These are dyes and preservatives leaking out of your cereal.  Dyes and preservatives are not good for you.  Therefore that is a litmus test of sorts. 

Shop Around the periphery of Super Markets
If you will notice, real food is on the outside of the store, processed factory food is on the outside.

Do Your Eating at a Table
If you eat at a table you are more conscious of what you are eating and often you are doing it with someone else.  This means you are eating slower, you have planned a meal, therefore it isnt a snack, and you will often be more interested in conversing than eating, which means you have a better chance of realizing you are full and stopping.

What I enjoy most about this book is that it strives to be non-science and non-fad based.  It is just about common sense.  I can deal more easily with that than I can balancing my fat types and assigning arbitrary numbers to certain kinds of foods. 

This is a book on food that a normal person can enjoy.

Tags: , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

