A Prince and A Princess

One of the wisest people I have ever met was a secretary.  As far as I know she is still. 

Her name is Viki and she is the secretary at the Harding University campus in Greece.  She is a woman who I feel is wise beyond her years, but keeps a child-like nature about her always.  She could make you laugh and had a contagious smile, but could lay something on you, right when you needed it, that you thought could come from the lips of Gandhi.

She once gave me some awesome relationship advice that I will never forget. 

Viki is in her late thirties.  She is single.  I made a comment one day about her being picky about men.  She smiled her big smile and said, “Yes, yes. I am very picky.”

“You see Co-man,” she continued in her thick accent. “Some one once tell me something that I am going to now tell you.”  This was already a good way through the semester, so I knew when Viki talked like this, you listened.   

“You and I, we are children of God.  And God is the King of Kings.  Something I did not understand for a very long time is that if I am his child, and he is my father, that makes me the daughter of the King.  Do you know what that means Co-man?”

I shook my head.

“That makes me a princess.  And that makes you a prince.  That means that we should never accept anyone in our lives that does not treat us like a princess and a  prince.”  She smiled big.

That struck me as being pretty profound.  She continued by saying, “Now Co-men, that means that we have a responsibility also to treat the people that we are together with like they are princesses and princes.  You see since we are all God’s princes and princesses, we always have to treat each other that way.”

I was kind of getting lost in thought with all of these implications when she finished by saying, “So, yes Co-men, I am very picky.  I am waiting for someone to believe me when I say that I am a princess and treat me like what I am.”

I was talking  the other night with a girl who’s boyfriend broke up with her via text message.  She was crying uncontrollably and was at a complete loss for what she was supposed to do next.  I didn’t think to tell her this story and very much wish that I would have. 

Here’s to missed opportunities.

Sometimes I am pretty bad at remembering this in my own relationships.  Sometimes I am not as nice, flexible, forgiving, open or graceful as I should be.  I have been thinking about that a lot lately too. 

Here’s to missed opportunities and committing to always get better about recognizing the chances to make someone feel like a princess and taking advantage of them.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

