Undenominational Christianity (Part Four)

I have written about this a bit before in an older post.

Abilene Christian University is coming to an interesting point in their history.  ACU is a university based in the Church of Christ legacy along with Lipscomb University, Freed-Hardeman, and the university of my heart, Harding University.  But this year, ACU is facing a student body made up of people who, for the most part, did not say they were members of the Church of Christ.

An increasing trend in young people in the post-modern age is that they are likely to, as the above article mentions, “sidestep denominational loyalties.”  In practice this means that when asked, young people will often say that they are Christians, instead of Baptist, Methodist or in this case, Church of Christ. 

The ironic thing about all of this, instead of inspiring many people who could perhaps see Post-Modernity bringing about the Restoration plea (to be simply Christians), are terrified.  To some, this is the end of  Biblical truth.  These people, though God loving and God fearing, see this as people straying from “the way.” 

If I were ignorant I would call this a generational problem, but I will never forget being a college Freshman on the Student Council in our meeting with the Harding Board of Directors when a guy my age spoke up saying he was “greatly concerned” by the increased percentage of people at Harding not claiming Church of Christ as their religion.  It was the college student who was concerned and the 60+ year old Board of Directors who wasn’t concerned.  While I think that the majority of people who are discontent with this news will be older people, many of whom reject post-modernism as wholly evil, there are even a number of people my age who are concerned as well.

I think that you have to make a decision here.  Either you are a member of the Church of Christ who sees these numbers as a death blow to the Church of Christ and our beliefs, doctrine and teaching.  Or you are a member of the Restoration Movement who see these numbers as a small realization of 200+ years of hope.  You have to choose. 

As for me and my house, I am a Restorationist.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

