Weekend @ Peace By Piece

As I mentioned before on here, Searcy has recently hosted as Christian Community Conference called Peace by Piece.  You may remember that there was some turbulance along the way and because of some of the selected speakers, the Conference was kindly asked to find a new venue.  This pushed the conference out into the community and several businesses and churches in the Downtown Searcy area were kind enough to host some of the lectures and conversations. 

Logan and I went down for an informational weekend and a weekend to imagine new things and directions for our lives and seeing if Community living might be something we were interested in.  On top of that we were able to see so many friends that we had not seen in a long time.

Here is the event list that we attended.

Saturday I
Geoff Maddock from Communality
“Leading from below and failing from the front in a missional community.”

Saturday II
Mark Elrod
“Microcredit: Small Loans That Make a Big Difference”

Keynote:  Karen Sloan

Saturday IV
Karen Sloan
“Money, Sex, and Power in Community: Practical Suggestions Towards Healthy Choices”

Keynote: Chris Haw

The weekend inspired a lot of good conversation between Logan and I about how we view Kingdom, Community and our role in the world.  On our way home we listened to a sermon by Mark Driscoll about Church Planting and talked about many of those ideas. 

We had a great weekend.  It was good to see friends and meet new people along the way.  It is always good to feel like you are coming home,  and that is how I feel when I come back to Harding.  It was good to stay with our dear friends Chris and Jessie Fulks as well as catch up with a host of others. 

This is not the only post I will do about Peace by Piece.  There was a lot of substantive material there that I am sure I will work into this blog over the week.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

2 responses to “Weekend @ Peace By Piece”

  1. Matt says :

    I’m looking forward to hearing more about the conference. We were planning on going, but things fell through over the past few weeks.

  2. coleyoakum says :

    Matt, I had hoped to see you there, but alas.

    I will be posting a few more things from it as I go. Probably just my notes and thoughts on several of the classes we went to.

Leave a Reply

