My Faith Journey

Several times recently I have found myself talking about different chapters in my faith journey.  Some of this has been from several trips back to Harding which is always a time of thought, reflection and growth.  Other times it has been with Logan and others who have been turning things over with me. 

Reflection is important.  I think it is almost everything.

I think that arrogance toward others is the result of the lack of reflection on yourself.  I have a friend who is a good spiritual guy, but he comes down hard on everyone around him for any flaws they may have.  I often say he is one of the least graceful people that I know, which is embarrassing for him because he has some pretty hardcore sins in his past.  Instead of reflecting on them and using those experiences to come to people from a position of experience and grace, he comes at them from a place of arrogance.  I find this sad.

Reflection not only gives you grace, it reminds you of experiences that shape who you are.  If you are not using your previous experience to become better and make the others around you better, then I think you are like a man who experiences himself in the mirror and forgets what he looks like.

This is going to be a series of posts for sure.  They aren’t going to be highly trendy topics.  I am not expecting to generate a lot of traffic from these posts, but I am hoping instead to generate a lot of honesty from them. 

In addition to my stories, I would ask you to share your own.  It doesn’t have to be here or with me, but keep those stories.  Hang on those experiences.  They make you who you are.  And you are who you are for a reason. 

Here are a few of mine.

Tags: , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

