Which King Are You? pt. 1, Intro

I am in a really good class at my church.  The group is pretty diverse ranging from 22 to 55 in age.  It’s guys, girls, singles, dating, college kids, , professionals, educators and so on– an interesting snapshot of the church as a whole, I think.

We have been surveying the entire Bible this semester.  We skim over it and anything that catches anyone or sparks debate or conversation we will rest on for a while.  It is a neat way to do class and something that I have enjoyed a lot.

Recently we have arrived at the books that make up the Chronicles and I have really enjoyed them.  I always really enjoy them;  they are history books.  Stories about kings and rulers,  laws and wars, and the events of ancient history are what I find thoroughly enjoyable. 

But reading through second Chronicles recently, I began to see much more than history there.  In reading about each of the kings of Judah I became increasingly impressed at how the Kings are so much more than events, dates, and men to memorize.  They are relatable characters.  They are people sho were battling the same spiritual battles and walking the same walk as we are today. 

I had this theory, so I went back and read it all again and I feel like there is really something to this.  So, for the next couple of weeks I will be posting a different discussion of each king of Judah as outlined in the book of 2nd Chronicles, starting in chapter ten with Rehoboam.  Through this I hope to accomplish a couple of things.  One, I hope to come to a better and more intimate understanding of each of these kings.  Two, I hope to be finding ways to communicate these thought and the lives of these men in a more personal way than perhaps some have read before.  Three, I hope to encourage some people with thoughts about the issues that each of these guys bring up. 

It should be fun and if anyone has any thoughts please post them and share them.  I hope that you find this as enjoyable as I do!

Tags: ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

