Things I Learned at CASA

I have recently finished up thirty hours of CASA  (Court Appointed Special Advocates) training and another 12 hours of training on dealing with older kids in the foster care system.  I has been long and tedious but we made it through alive.  I have come out a more enlightened person and now, like a bodisatva, I am here to pass some of that information on to you.

  • The average meth lab costs $3,000-5,000 to clean up.  That money comes from tax payers. (North Little Rock Police)
  • In 2005 5,240 kids were removed from homes due to neglect, 1,873 for physical abuse and 2037 for sexual abuse. (Arkansas DHS Statistical Report)
  • In 2006 ca. 5,600 kids in maltreatment cases were under the age of 11.  2,000 were between 12 and 15. (Ibid)
  • 50.5% of foster kids are girls and 49.5% are boys (2006 Arkansas DHHS Statistical Report)
  • 57% are white, 28% are Black, 5% are Hispanic. (ibid)
  • Hitting any part of the head and washing a kid’s mouth out with soap are considered child abuse in the state of Arkansas, (Arkansas Department of Human Services child Maltreatment Assessment Protocol)
  • http://www.drugfree.org/portal/drugissue/methresources/faces/index.html
  • Child Abuse Hotline: 1-800-482-5964
  • In 2006 there were 50,640 calls to the Abuse Hotline and 28,004 became abuse cases.

Hope you enjoy that info, I think there is more to come soon

Tags: , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

