I Finally Picked Up A Prostitute

I pick up hitch-hikers.  It’s what I do. 

There are a couple reasons for this:  I love meeting new people, having hitch-hiked before I know how frustrating it can be.  But really, my friend Andrew said it best the other day when he said, “I figure that if God blessed me with a car, and didn’t bless others with one, then I should be willing to share.”  With a Recession at hand, many people are a minor problem away from not having a car.  A flat tire could be all it takes for some people to be without a car because they don’t have an additional $50 to get a used tire. 

It is for that reason that I always stop and pick people up, always ask if they need a ride somewhere.  If someone is standing around looking stranded, I am the guy who asks if you need help.  So, the following story was bound to happen sometime…

I was getting gas at Citgo in Fayetteville.  There was a woman standing at the station kind of looking around forlorn.  I pulled around and said, “Hey, do you need a ride somewhere?”

“Yes, that would be great!” she said.  She grabbed her bag and climbed in.

“Where are you going?”  I asked.

“Well, that depends, where are you going?”  she asked.  This isn’t too awfully uncommon among drifting people who don’t really care where they end up from night to night. 

“Well, I am going to Bentonville.” 

“Well, if this doesn’t take long, you can drop me off in Springdale, unless you have a bed for me to sleep in in Bentonville.”

Now…this was really my first clue.  “If what…doesn’t take long” is what I wanted to ask, but refrained.

“Well, I am actually on my way to work in Bentonville.  So…” 

She said nothing.  I think it was about now that she figured things out also.  I decided to probe.

“What do you do for a living?”

“Well that depends, what do you do for a living?”  she asked.

“I work at a Children’s Shelter.”

“Hmm,” she eyed me. “I do odd jobs.  Clean houses and stuff for a friend.”

“Oh, okay.”

We rode in silence all the way to Springdale.  She asked to be dropped off at Walmart and said she could get back home in Fayetteville from there. 

That was that.  Here’s to more chance encounters with prostitutes in the future!

Tags: , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

2 responses to “I Finally Picked Up A Prostitute”

  1. Christian Servant says :

    That is awesome!
    haha

    Although that hasn’t happened to me yet it’ll be interesting when it does (or perhaps I just didn’t realize if it did)!

  2. Casper says :

    Wow! Crazy story but very interesting!!

Leave a Reply

