“Come Back From California…”

Yes, yes.  I am on my way back to Northwest Arkansas today. I have been at the airport since about 6:30 a.m. this morning awaiting my 11:35 flight from Oakland to Denver then from there to Tulsa.

It has been a good trip so far.  I have enjoyed myself this week. 

The occasion was primarily for the wedding of my dear friend Courtnie Bristow, a friend for years now from Harding.  Her man, who I hadn’t met until this weekend is a cool cat named Josh Jensen.  As previously mentioned, Josh and I had  agood time getting to know each other this week.  He is a solid guy with a great family and great friends and I was lucky enough to spend some time with all of them this weekend. 

On top of the wedding, this weekend was about reunions.  It had been a year since I had last seen my good friend Kate Dear.  It had been longer since I had seen my friends Jennifer Lloyd and Carole Johnson.  It had been far too long since I had seen Courtnie’s family.  Reunions are wonderful.  One thing that is hard to do over the years is see people as often as you want to.  Something is always in the way: money, geography, life, jobs, kids, families, etc.  Suddenly you look around and say, “Oh, crap.  I haven’t seen my best friend in a year” or “Oh crap, my best friend is about to marry some cat I’ve never met?”  That is happening too often these days.  It was good to reconnect.

This weekend was also about new friendships.  Josh, being the primary new friend I made this weekend, was not alone in that category.  I met some cool people like Justin McRoberts who is a very talented musician.  I met Jes Steinberg who, in addition to being super sweet and fun, can preach!  Josh isn’t an only child.  He has two rockin’ siblings: Nikki and Jeff who were a lot of fun to get to know.  I lived for a few days with the photographer Ryan Shelburne who flew in from Portland.  He and I became aquainted quickly and started through our roladex of mutual friends.  Last but not least, Kim Holland was a joy to get to know.  We’d talked on the phone before but had never actually met face to face and we were fast friends.

This was also a weekend where I learned  little big more about the Kingdom work going on in other places.  I was able to visit Shelter where Court and Josh go to church.  I was able to learn a bit about Young Life which many of my friends in California work for.

On top of it all we saw the sights, ate the food, took in the ocean and enjoyed the sun.  Put all of these things together and you’ll understand why I am filled, relaxed and exhausted all at once.

Photos to come soon.

Tags: , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

4 responses to ““Come Back From California…””

  1. jes says :

    Pleasure to meet you, too, Coleman. Glad you enjoyed your time in (semi) sunny CA. Come back again next summer…or sooner!

  2. jokeplayer says :

    It was good to meet you Coleman! Keep rocking.

    @steve_arnett

Leave a Reply

