Drive Time

I drive a lot these days.

Lately I have been spending four days in Northwest Arkansas, then driving back down to Searcy on Monday nights, coming back on Thursday nights.  All in all I am spending around 800 miles a week in my car. 

When they hear this people will often say, “I don’t know how you do that” or “That must be awful.”  But it really isn’t that bad.  Luckily I am one of these people that finds a lot of joy in driving. 

I like it because it can be anything that you want.  That is, you can make it anything you want.  On any given 3.5 hour road trip I can pray, rock out, get intellectual with a book on CD, be silent, talk to myself, pretend I am in some epic cross-country car race, call random people in my phone, rap along whitely or any combination of these things. 

So much of my week is out of my hands.  Fifty hours a week I work, twenty five hours a week I sleep, two hours a week I am in chapel, fifteen hours a week I am in class.  I feel like the time that I am in control is sparse and sporadic.  Driving is some of that time.  It is a few hours, twice a week where my experience is completely up to me. 

Lately I have been posting on twitter and facebook the times that I am driving so that people can call me and that has been wonderful.  I have gotten calls from some good friends, some old friends and some friends that I never thought I would spend hours talking to on the phone, but I have and for that I am grateful.

All that to say, I am enjoying my alone time.  This is a good thing I have going.

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

