Homecoming

As many of you will know, this weekend was homecoming at Harding University.  This, along with Spring Sing mark the two major hajjs back to Searcy for the university’s alumni.

This year was pretty special though because in addition to the typical festivities, Chi Sigma Alpha and Regina had a reunion in Cone Chapel.  Members young and old came together to meet, catch up, sing and have a good time.  The meeting that I looked forward to is with the handsome guy below, Paul Lockhart, who is a legend.  Paul and I have been aquaintences for some time and have both heard our friends talk about the other, so shaking the hand of a man who until today was the subject of Chi Sig myth was pretty cool.  In addition, I spent some time with my pledge brothers from a few years back, met some newer members, saw Kevin Stewart and Ken Kyle. 

**Kudos to the great Lisa Burley for putting so much time, effort and energy into this as well as the many other people who worked hard to make this happen.  I planned a similar shindig once and know that it is no day in the park.  **

After that it was lunch with the wonderful Jacque Breuer and our friends Michael and Sarah Crouch.  Where else but Mi Ranchito?  We had a great time catching ups, spending time laughing again, mostly at Jacque’s expense.  She is always a wonderful sport. 

Then, it was FroYo with Kate Dear.  Then it was Berryhill with Kate Dear.  Then it was Midnight Oil with Kate Dear and her family.  There are few people I like hashing-out life with as much as I like it with Kate.  We’ve been the best of friends for a long time and shared a life-time’s worth of experiences in just a few years.  There is nothing better than a friend like that.

I love Harding.  In this one day that I described I met a new friend from Alabama, had mexican food with friends from Nashville and Malibu, then had yogurt and coffee with some friends from Detroit.  While we were at the reunion, someone came running up to Kevin Stewart and said, “This is what Heaven is going to be like!”  While I am reluctant to draw a paralel between Harding and Heaven, I know I am consistantly blessed by the things that Harding does for me and the people I meet there.  I do think that Heaven will have a pretty sweet reunion, us to God and us with each other.

All in all it was worth the 3.5 hour drive to Searcy after a long night of work, only to be followed by another 3.5 hour drive back and another long hight of work. 

Thank you all so much.

Tags: , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

One response to “Homecoming”

  1. Lisa says :

    Coleman, it was so good to see you. I’m so very glad that you made the crazy mad dash down here for the day.

    Although I would never parallel Harding to Heaven, I would definitely put the people that I know from Harding into the description. Throw in the music and the joy and love and I’d say it’s as close to an earthly representation as we might find.

    I’m glad you’re a part of that picture. Love you!

Leave a Reply

