Break Reading

There are plenty of things to love about school.  There are plenty of things to dislike about it also.  One of my greatest frustrations is that I can not guide my own learning.  I am too busy reading the things and writing the things that my professors think that I should that I don’t get to read the things and learn the things that I want to read. 

So when breaks come around, You better believe I take full advantage and read as much as I can.  Therefore, I have created a reading list for this upcoming break.  This is also the order that I am going to read these books.  Odds are I won’t get to all of them, but I am hoping to knock out the first couple.  Here they are:

On Writing by Stephen King
I am still working through Donald Miller’s books for writers, and this is among them.  Its been a good read so far. 

Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller
This is a re-read for me.  I was having a good talk with my friend Laura King the other day and I mentioned this book.  I told her I wasn’t sure if it was actually a good book or if I read it at a good time.  But I figure if I am still recommending it to people, then I had better find out.  shouldn’t take very long to breeze through again, and I might re-learn a thing or two.

A Walk in the Woods  by Bill Bryson
Again, a re-read but, this book got be thinking about nature in new ways and encouraging me to get out and enjoy it from time to time.  I think I need another push in that direction if I am living in Northwest Arkansas and have yet to visit many of the parks around here. 

Those are the ones that I am sure to get through.  My other hopes include:

On Writing Well by William Zinsser
Eat Pray Love  by Elizabeth Gilbert
A Christian Manifesto  by Francis Schaeffer
The Qur’an: Text Translation and Commentary by Abdullah Yusuf Ali

Tags: ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

