A Nod to My Old Self

Sometimes you bump into yourself from years ago.  This happens in different ways: going home and seeing your old room, finding old notes and journals, finding a box of clothes that you used to think were cool.  Each time we see what kind of values and what kind of things were important to you at that time and place.

I had one of those moments tonight.

Tonight I went to see a screening of a film called Wrong Way to Hope which is a documentary about a group of young-adult cancer survivors who take an adventure trip down a remote river in Oregon.  The film discusses many problems and issues related to having cancer so young and what your life looks like after that.  It was very moving, very touching, very informative.  This isn’t where I encountered myself, but probably set the stage for why my interaction was so powerful.

When I got home I did the normal routine, change into my athletic shorts, take a couple huge gulps of Mountain Dew and open my laptop.  In my Inbox I had an email from 43Things

If you don’t know what 43Things is, it is basically a website where you make a list of 43 things that you want to do (in the next week, year, lifetime, doesn’t matter).  I made mine in the spring of 2008, almost three years ago and hadn’t looked at it or thought about it since then.  So I decided to look it up.

Below is my list of 43 things from the spring of 2008.  If it has a dash through it, it has been completed.

1. Learn to Life Coffee
2. See a World Series Game
3. Visit Costa Rica
4. See the Grand Canyon
5. Start a Revolution
6. Watch all of IMDBs top 100 movies
7. Get into the Mile High Club
8. Write more letters
9. See SNL Live
10. See a game in Arrowhead Stadium
11. Own each PostSectret book
12. Join the Peace Corps
13. Publish a book of Photographs
14. Design a home
15. See a game in Yankee stadium
16. Do someone’s wedding pictures
17. Get better at guitar
18. Buy a good camera
19. Read all the books that I own
20. Do an internship with Heifer
21.  Have an office
22. Read “The Tipping Point” by Malcom Gladwell
23. Become fluent in  a second language
24. Own a home
25. Be a Teacher
26. Do long-term work in Latin America
27. Spend time in Africa
28. Write a movie
29. Get married
3o. Write a book
31. Be knowledgeable about another cultures mythology
32. Sell some of my pictures
33. Adopt
34. Hike the Appalachian Trail
35. See a World Cup match
36. Graduate from College
37. Make a difference
38. Stop driking pop
39. Eat healthier
40. See the Northern lights
41. Read Blankets
42. Go to Grad School
43. Get duel citizenship

I could sit here and explain the things on this list, but I think that it speaks for itself.  Fire away any questions or commentary.  It would be good to see your list as well.  Getting things done?

Tags: ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

3 responses to “A Nod to My Old Self”

  1. Sarah W says :

    What’s funny is on facebook the formatting doesn’t come through, so none of them are crossed out, and I was confused until I clicked through, because I wondered why you were posting a long list of things you haven’t made any progress on doing… But now I get it.

  2. Kaitlin says :

    Duel citizenship with which country? As a Heifer International Intern, author, teacher, Peace Corps member, screenplay writer, architect, professional photographer, Latin revolutionary, I’m sure you have plenty of options! :)

Leave a Reply

