Church of Christer Does Lent , Day One

A good Ash Wednesday to everyone.  I am observing the holiday and season of Lent this year, but without all of the really Catholic things like ashes on my face.

Upon some discussion among my friends and spiritual family, I have decided that I am doing a fruit and water only diet from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.  This way my religious exercise will not be a burden on our host families in Lansing, Michigan next week, but I am still giving up somethings that I love for the majority of the waking hours.

In addition, I hope to cram in some good study and prayer time daily, as well as reflection which will mostly be in the form of writing, much of which you will read here. 

I grew up with Methodist friends who really loved Lent. They would give up things like pop, tv, scream-o, music or certain colors for Lent.  There was  a cool high school community of them who would talk about it and I am sure keep each other accountable.  We used to make fun of them and call them a cult, but I am sure their Lent experiences were much more rich since they were there for each other when they messed up or were feeling like giving up. 

The season of Lent, however, is not just about giving things up, but really focusing your mind on God and Christ and his death in preparation for Easter.  You do this through self-denial, prayer, meditation and thoughtfulness toward God. 

It should be a learning experience if nothing else.  Surely it will build a level of love and appreciation toward my Catholic brothers and sister who do this every year of their lives. 

I will be posting here regularly, feel free to share your stories as well.  For now, I am going to go eat a banana.

Tags: , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

2 responses to “Church of Christer Does Lent , Day One”

  1. Lisa says :

    Well, until I saw this I forgot about my decision to give up Diet Coke.

    Seriously. Totally forgot that Lent even started today, even though I prayed all the way to town and back last night that God would help me make a good choice about what to do and that I would not make some knee-jerk decision about this. I wanted it to be thoughtful and intentional.

    And then I totally forgot.

    Had a Diet Coke at 10:00 AM, realized what I’d done when I read this, and then pushed the restart button.

    However, I lamented my failure not to God through prayer, but to friends through Facebook.

    Something seems wrong with that picture.

  2. cleanerspace says :

    I didn’t have a Dr Pepper today. I didn’t drink much of anything else though either, so by this evening I was really really thirsty. I have been thinking about Lent alot, this is the first year that I will not be a part of the Lutheran church for the Lenten season. That is weird. And I keep forgetting the most essential parts of Lent for me, replacing things that have become excessive with things that have been lacking, learning to pray and rely on and seek God when I feel weak and tired instead of using feeling weak and tired as an excuse to indulge in harmful behavior. Self-discipline and learning balance.

    That’s kind of alot to fit just into one day of Lent. I am already drooling for Sunday. I will let you know how it keeps going. –Sadie

Leave a Reply

