Church of Christer Does Lent, Day Two

Early thoughts:  I am going to get tired of bananas.

So, as per usual I hadn’t really planned this whole thing out yet.  I sat down to get some work done yesterday and my stomach started making its usual grumbles.  It was only two o’clock so my options were only fruit.  But a quick look around the kitchen revealed that I had bought none. 

I jumped in my car and decided to drive to Walmart to buy some of my favorite fruits.  Walking up and down the produce aisles I realized something…

There are only about two fruits or vegetables that I like.  Bananas are wonderful, apples are good, but outside of that, nothing.

Then I began looking for ways around my pledge.

“Dressing on a salad shouldn’t count against me.”

“Ooo what about flavored water?”

“Vegetable pizza has vegetables on it!”

“What about a veggie sub from Subway?”

It kind of reminded me of when I was a kid and we would invent games to play on the playground.  Eventually when we didn’t like how something was going, we’d change the rules of the game.  I was hungry and didn’t like the rules that I had put in front of myself, so I was going to change them. 

In the end the original rules won out and I walked out of the store with a bag of apples and mostly green bananas (gross).

Tags: ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

One response to “Church of Christer Does Lent, Day Two”

  1. Sarah says :

    Awww poor Coleman! I’m not a big fan of most plain fruits and veggies either.

Leave a Reply

