“Reformission Rev” Thoughts on Driscoll’s Book

As part of my Lenten disciplines I have been taking more time out to sit and read.  I tend to read a lot, but as the semesters get busier and busier, personal reading tends to give way to assigned reading from professors and class work.  I am doing my best to break that trend though by keeping up with school work as well as doing some spiritual reading and thinking as I go.

One of the books I took with me to Michigan last week was Mark Driscoll’s Confessions of  A Reformission Rev.  Anyone who knows me very well knows that I think a lot of the work he has done in Seattle with his church, Mars Hill.  I listen to Driscoll often and though we disagree about some issues (I would consider them minor, he would consider them major) I think he is a great teacher. 

Confessions takes you on a step by step journey through the growth of the church in Seattle.  His chapters discuss the many issues they ran into as related to size.  He tells good stories and gives interesting advise for growing a small, outwardly focused church all the way through maintaining an outward focus at 5,000 people. 

I enjoyed several interesting suggestions such as moving your church twenty minutes away to see who is really dedicated and more.

It’s a good read.  I highly suggest it if you are fascinated with church growth like I am.

Tags: , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

