Summer Reading List 2011

This summer, as with all summers I am setting out to read a goodly amount.  This will, however, have to fit around my greater research projects for the summer.  Here is the short list:

1) Mere Christianity
A re-read, but no less excited about it.

2) The First World War – John Keegan
I am already about 80 pages into this one and like it a lot.  I never really learned or paid much attention to classes over the First World War.  So reading this book has really been blowing my mind. 

3) The Sound and the Fury – William Faulkner
A friend of mine is taking a Faulkner class this summer at Harding and we’ve decided to read that together. 

4) Theology of Liberation – Gustavo Gutierrez
I am reading the 15th anniversary edition, which means I am reading the extended 15th anniversary edition introduction.  I think the actual book is only about 100 pages, but this introduction has got to tack on another 40.  So far so good.

5) Reviving the Ancient Faith – Richard Hughes
A good history of the Churches of Christ in America.  I used it a lot in my research this semester and am really excited to get back into it.

Tags: ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

One response to “Summer Reading List 2011”

  1. Lisa says :

    1: Love
    2: Haven’t read, might add it to my list. I’m on somewhat of fiction kick these days, but do find that I need breaks for non-fiction from time to time.
    3: I’ve found that if I read Faulkner with the voice of an old southerner sitting on the porch in a rocking chair and just telling the story, then he is very readable. When I try to read it with the internal rhythm of typical fiction, it can be almost unbearable.
    4: Hmmm . . . .
    5: Love. I want to reread it at some point.

    I always thought I would reread all of the Harry Potter books this summer, but now I have so many other books I want to read that I’m not sure what to do. So many books, so little time . . .

Leave a Reply

