Jesus Manifesto

Right now I am reading Jesus Manifesto by Leonard Sweet and Frank Viola. It has been on my short list of books to get to for a while now, but when I saw it an Christian Walmart the other day (also known as Mardel’s) for two dollars I thought I would pick it up. The book is basically almost completely just a reminder or how awesome Jesus is.

If I could sum it up I would say this: Jesus decided to leave heaven, come to earth, lived perfectly, died, came back from death and through that you have a shot at going to heaven and if you don’t think that is the most incredible thing of all time, you should, because it is.

 It really isn’t my kind of book. I am a much more heady Jesus kind of guy. I like knowing about Jewish culture, Roman Law, the political make-up of Judea at the time. Knowing all of that stuff gives you a knowledge of just how out of line Jesus and the apostles were. But it is good to put aside the big books and knowledge and just get reminded from time to time just how incredible that story is outside of all of the other stuff.

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

