Home

Detroit.

I drove into town after my couple of days on the road. I went to Kensington’s Troy campus where Dan left my keys.

Dan, along with his wife and four foster kids, are letting me live with them, but are out of town until Saturday, leaving me to move in and get acquainted with the neighborhood for a couple of days on my own. This has been interesting.

My neighborhood is in the Boston-Edison district– an old formerly well-to do neighborhood that has gone by the way side and is now in disrepair. It doesn’t sit far from the stadium where the Tigers play baseball or from the heart of Downtown. Each are about then minutes away, but I don’t imagine that many of the people who live around me ever venture that direction.

Many of the houses around me are empty, boarded up and slowly losing credibility as living spaces. Others look like I imagine thy did in the heyday of the neighborhood. There is a strange urban schizophrenia that goes on in places like this. The boarded up house next to be beautiful Victorian. A Chrysler 300 on rims in front of a house with the roof falling in. A stretch limo followed by a rusted out 1993 Astro-van. It’s strange but it works and for the next year, its home.

Tags: , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

