Spiritual Discipline: Thank -You Cards

Doing anything like what I am doing in Detroit is never a solo effort. A whole host of things had to happen to even put me in a position to be offered this job much less for me to be able to drop everything and move here six weeks later. A work like this takes a village

I spent most of my day writing thank you cards. For me, thank you cards are a task. I don’t like saying thank you over and over again. Not because I am ungrateful but because it somehow feels disingenuous. I also worry that somehow my friends will all come together and compare cards and realize that each of them was essentially the same, and thus think that they aren’t genuine.

Of course these fears are stupid. My friends will understand that I have only been here a day so there is not a whole lot to report. And just because I write cards to a dozen people doesn’t mean that I mean it any more the first time than I do the last time. I am thankful.

Similarly I know that some of my friends really wish that they could be here doing similar things, but due to different life circumstances, just can’t. I know several have said they are just going to live vicariously through my work. So, this way I can fill them in on the things that are going on here and let them know what they are helping to support.

So, back to the cards. I know that through this I am learning to show gratitude in other ways than my words. I also realize that keeping my community informed of the work that they are helping to do is important. Though it may be draining sometimes, I will continue to show gratitude and carry on.

Tags: , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

2 responses to “Spiritual Discipline: Thank -You Cards”

  1. marisa farmer says :

    So, somewhat unrelated to this post, yet I will still reply here.

    I was reading a Rob Bell book today and thought, “I love the way he writes, he talks to me. I don’t feel like I’m reading this book, but that he is sitting in front of me telling me all about this subject.”

    Then I thought, Coleman writes the same way. It’s what keeps me coming back here time and time again, no matter what you are writing about, I will inevitably read it, not always commenting for sometimes the topics are way out of my reach to muster an intelligent response.

    But I just want to say Thank you, to you. I guess that is where this ties in with your post, in a way. You enrich my life so much with your writing and with the stories that I get to witness through you, if only via the web. You are doing things I wish I had the strength to do.

    This doesn’t do it justice but,

    You are awesome

    God is great

    • coleyoakum says :

      Marisa,
      I won’t lie. I both smile and cringe when I hear you compare my writing style to Rob Bell’s. Often when I read his books I get frustrated with his bouncing around from idea to idea. I feel like I am in his mind and I want to say, “ROB! Calm down! Hunker down on one point for a second will ya!”

      But I also understand that his style and my style especially are conversational. And that is a voice I really work on. I want people who read my stuff to feel like they are just hearing me tell a story, because, really, that’s all I am doing.

      In short, you’re right. God is good and I enjoy telling his stories.

Leave a Reply

