Nehemiah and Detroit, Intro

I love the book of Nehemiah.

To be honest I went a long portion of my Christian walk without spending much time in it, but if you are a person who has vision for a whole city or region, you’ve got to love the guy.

The first time I ever spent real time with Nehemiah was when Mark Driscoll did a series on the book back in 2006. Whether you agree with everything Driscoll says or not (and believe me there is plenty to disagree with) the series he does on Nehemiah is incredible.

I am doing this series of posts, really to give credit where credit is due. Since much of the credit for the work, vision, passion and understanding of my calling to hard urban work is due to Nehemiah, I am going to do several posts as I work through this book again in the infancy of my work here in Detroit. Much of these posts will be autobiographical, some of it will pull from other books and ideas on urban work and some of it will be pure rant, but I am excited about the study and what can come from a re-hashing of the book.

Tags: ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

