Kid Rock and Fundraising

Calling people that you send support letters to is no fun.

I always feel like a sales person calling to sell some product. In this case, my work in Detroit. Sometimes it is calling good friends that I sent letters to, other times it is calling total strangers. Sometimes those phone calls are awkward, other times they are more enjoyable. This is one of those:

I was calling churches back in Searcy that I had sent letters to the week before.

The phone rang.

“Thanks for calling ____ Church, how can I help you?” It was a little old lady from the sound of things.

“Hi, my name is Coleman Yoakum. I sent you a letter a week ago telling you about some of the work that I am doing here in Detroit, and I was just calling to follow up on that letter and see if you had received it.” This is, at this point a very well rehearsed lead-in that I give everyone that I call.

“Yes, Coleman we got your letter but I am afraid that we have decided that we are not going to send you any support.” Common response.

“Okay, well I appreciate you guys looking at it and considering it, that means a lot. If you could just keep my work here in your prayers I would really appreciate that.”

Typically this is where people say, “Sure,” and hang up on me, but not this lady.

“Now, are you working in Detroit, Arkansas?” she asked.

“No ma’am, I am in Detroit, Michigan.”

“Ooo, really? I am jealous of you. That is where that hunk Kid Rock lives. He is from Detroit, Michigan you know? He is just a home-grown boy. He lives there still and loves that city so much. He isn’t bad looking either…”

She ended the conversation by saying that she hopes that I get to meet Kid Rock and that she might send me some money so that I can stay here and hopefully make that happen.

 I’ll take it how I can get it.

Tags: , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

One response to “Kid Rock and Fundraising”

  1. schmittmike says :

    This is awesome. Hilarious!

Leave a Reply

