Prayer Journal

I struggle with how active God is in the world. This confusing question has gone on for a long time and is well documented in the history of this blog.  But recently I am coming around to the idea that God is much more active than I ever gave him credit for. 

Anyone who knows me, knows what my key phrase is when I learn something new. “That Just Means Things…”  Usually this indicates that I don’t know what these things are in full, but that I am figuring things out, slowly but surely.

Being that for the longest time I was unsure if God worked on earth, I was also iffy on prayer ranging from not thinking it was relevant, to being flippant about it.  If God didn’t work, then there was no sense in asking him to do things.  But if God is active then that means that I need to talk things out with him.

But here is the thing:  I suck at prayer.  Maybe it is from a life-time of inactivity, but I am really bad at it.  I forget, I get busy, I get tired, I start but fall asleep, I don’t remember what people ask me to pray for.  I am a lousy prayer.

I am sure that prayer, like most things, is like a muscle.  The more you work it out the stronger it becomes.  I am overcoming a lifetime of prayer atrophy. 

So, I decided to deal with prayer in a medium I am familiar and comfortable with, writing.  So, last night I started a prayer journal. 

First prayer: Help me be better at praying. 

We’ll see what happens.

Tags:

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

One response to “Prayer Journal”

  1. DMM says :

    What kind of stuff do you suppose God is actively doing, exactly?

Leave a Reply

