Elevate Detroit

Greetings readers!  Hope this post finds you humble, happy and attacking November as if every day brings you closer and closer to Thanksgiving.

I have talked to many of you personally over the past few days and let you know that my internship is moving from Kensington Community Church to Elevate Detroit

For some time now I have been doing more on-the-ground work in the city, but the busyness of my other work kept me in the office more than out meeting folks.  I expressed these feelings to several peers and my supervisor and we decided that it may be better to take my internship in another direction.

I have been doing some ghost writing on Elevate Detroit’s blog and talking to one of its founders, Mike Schmitt, about the work that they do–traveling around Southeast Michigan creating community in areas where there are high poor and homeless populations with barbecues and festivities.  I have been to a couple of barbecues and loved the work that they were doing.  My church, Awakenings Movement, has begun to partner with them on a monthly basis and help out at these events. 

I decided that this was the kind of direction I was interested in and decided to move my internship there.  Being that I have experience working with nonprofits and regional outreach organizations I felt this was a perfect fit for my experience and that I would have something to bring t the organization.

Everyone at Kensington was supportive, reflecting their open-handed spirit for which they are so well known here.  They gave me their blessing and helped me make the switch.  I am forever in debt to them for bringing me to this great city, letting me get my foot in the door in the work doing on here and encouraging me to go out and find the best fit for me. 

You can learn more about Elevate Detroit at their website

You can follow their blog

I imagine that I will be writing for them quite a bit and posting many of those thoughts here as well. 

Thank you for your prayers, support advise and pep talks as I have been making my way through this journey in Detroit.

Tags: , , , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

