Finding Teachers

Life has been pretty busy lately.  I have been working hard to get Micah 6 Community off the ground and really define our place and mission in the great city of Pontiac.  I have also been working a lot, spending time with my lovely girlfriend, and driving all over the state to meet new folks who are interested in what we are doing here.

If you have spent much time on my blog, you have seen that I am in the process of starting an intentional community in Pontiac with a heart for Jesus and community development.  This undertaking has been a serious burden on my heart, mind, time and finances.  I have literally driven around the state meeting new people who are interested in what we are doing.  My days have begun to start earlier and end later.

It has been invaluable though.  For the better part of a month now I have been lucky enough to sit at the feet of pastors, bankers, community planners, educators, nonprofit workers and the regular people in Pontiac and glean wisdom from all of them.  And all of them have been forthcoming with advise, guidance, suggestions and support.

You see, I am setting out to do something, but I know that there is no way I can do it alone.  If this project had me alone to rely on it would be doomed from the beginning.  There is no way I could do anything without the wisdom and guidance of the people who are walking along beside and behind me.

A part of our vision statement is “walk humbly.”  Part of that means seeking our great teachers and that is what I am doing.  Teachers don’t have to be guys with degrees, or big offices or titles.  Often in our case, our best teachers about our neighborhoods will be our neighbors.

We are learning a lot, and we’re going to try to keep that going.

Tags: , ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

