Micah 6 Community – Fundraising

It has been quite a trip up to this point.

Five months ago, sitting in a restaurant in Searcy, Arkansas I didn’t know where this was going to go.  Jenny and I were sitting in a booth with my friend Kristen Snow and her boyfriend Bud. We talked for a long while about how things were going in Detroit, things that we were trying, places I was thinking about going. In the back of my head though I had been thinking about Pontiac for some time.

On the way home I talked Jenny’s ear off with plans, ideas, things I was sure of and a lot of things I was unsure of. Once we got back I started meeting more people, and verbalizing more often my plans for Pontiac. Over time as I met more and more people from the city and organizations who were doing great work there we stumbled into the niche that we are hoping to move into and meet folks in for Jesus.

Community Gardens.  Pontiac struggles with many of the same issues as other urban areas, one of those being how to locate fresh produce at affordable prices, and then what to do with that produce once they have it. You see, having produce has been a generational issue, so everyone has forgotten how to cook and prepare fresh fruits and veggies.

So, I thought, that’s what we’ve got to do! Because it does so many things. 1) It improves community health, 2) It combats blight and crime that come along with vacant lots, 3) It is an easy thing for a formerly not involved person to do in Pontiac, 4) It is a service we can offer and use that as a point of contact to meet people in hopes of sharing Jesus.

There was just one problem: I don’t know anything about gardening.

So, I put in a call to my friend Kim Ledford and made the big ask: “Interested in moving into the hood and becoming an urban farmer?” Her answer, in true Kim fashion: “Sure. I’ve got nothing else going on.”  You see, Kim has spent the whole past year working on the Heifer International Ranch, teaching people of all ages how to do small-scale farming. She is basically the perfect fit.

But then there was the issue of land. That was quickly shut down when two different groups in the city contacted me and said, “You can use our lots!” Totaling 77 lots at 1/4 of an acre each we have access to almost 20 acres for farming. That’s not an issue any more!

Every day I get new emails or phone calls from someone new who wants to adopt a lot, help us weed or landscape, donate this or that. We don’t even have a plant in the ground yet!

I am not saying any of this to brag, boast or beat my chest. Anyone who has asked me how this is going lately knows that I just bury my face in my hands and say, “Ugh… so well.” And that is an understatement. Things in Pontiac and with Micah 6 Community are blowing up, and it is a tremendous blessing to know that the people of Pontiac are behind us and that God seems to be giving the increase. But it is humbling.

We are currently entering the next phase of this already wild roller-coaster: raising funds.

We have the lots, the volunteers, the interest and the momentum. Finances are just the glue that make them all come together. These funds will purchase the house that we are planting out intentional community in, its needed renovations, the tools and supplies that we will be using for the lots, the plants, and any other unforeseen needs in our future.

Please consider being apart of another great blessing to Micah 6 and to the city of Pontiac.

Click here for more information.

Tags: ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

