Lessons from the Road

As many of you know I did a tour of the south a week ago, telling people about Micah 6 Community and all of the great things happening in Pontiac right now. It was largely a fundraising trip, visiting churches I attended for long periods of time and meeting new friends along the way.

While driving I gleaned some shards that may turn out to be nothing, or turn out to be wisdom, or may turn out to be wrong completely, but I thought I would share them with you.

1. Extrovert, Introvert
I love people. Conversation is my energy source, chatting is my pass-time, small talk is my gift.  However, that isn’t the case for a lot of people. My girlfriend is one of those people. Jenny came to Arkansas with me and spent a lot of time with my friends and family and strangers hearing me talk about Micah 6 Community over and over and over.  By day four, she had had enough.

“You go to your meetings,” she said. “I am going to spend at least four hours here watching Downton Abbey and I don’t want to see anyone or get out of my pajamas.”

It is a blessing to have someone who is such a trooper about faking it, and at the same time will let me know what she needs when she has had enough.

2. Every Life-style is Interesting to Someone Else
When I was a kid, growing up in the middle of nowhere –in a trailer on five acres located twelve miles from town– I couldn’t wait to go live in a big city somewhere.  All I wanted was to be somewhere else, where I didn’t know everyone and there were things to do and the tallest thing around wasn’t a tree.

Well, on this trip I watched my girlfriend step into my world and think that it was amazing.  We went to visit our friend Bud, who works on a farm near Judsonia, Arkansas. Jenny was thrilled to be able to ride a tractor, drive a Mule and pick blackberries; all things that I grew up doing and couldn’t wait to leave.

3. Not Everyone Cares About Your Calling
It is easy for me to feel strong, passionate and excited about my calling because it is my calling.  You can’t be upset when someone else doesn’t see it, doesn’t get it, doesn’t thing it is legitimate. Ultimatley it comes down to it being a matter of your calling, not theirs.

You can’t take it personally when the call that God has given you isn’t the call he’s given others.  That is what it means to be different parts of the body. The eye isn’t called to do the same thing as the foot and even if you explain what the foot does, the eye probably don’t get too excited about that.

4. It is never too late to make new friends
This week I was lucky enough to meet some new friends at a church back in Searcy, my hometown. We spent a lot of time together for the ladder part of the week just sharing the love and passions and visions and callings that God had put in front of us and that was an awesome thing.

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

