Doing Your Part

I love Nehemiah.

One of my favorite parts of the book of Nehemiah is when he comes to Jerusalem, lays out the plan for the wall and everyone jumps in and as the Bible says, “fixes the section in front of their house.”

This is Bible speak for, “everyone did their part.”

A cool part of my job is that I get to run into and bump elbows with people who are just “doing their part.”  Already in the 25 days we’ve been in our house at 32 Newberry we’ve met two people who are just doing their part.

One is a former military man who has just bought properties as he could afford them and kept them up-to-code because he didn’t want drug dealers using them to distribute drugs.  He owns five houses, boarded up, on my block.  He mows the lawns, does the maintenance and plants flower beds in front of all of them just to keep the neighborhood looking nice and uninviting to people who would seek to do ill in it.

The second, is literally a street sweeper.  Now retired, every morning he wakes up, says a prayer and grabs a broom and dust pan and walks the streets of Pontiac, sweeping up trash, hoping that people will take more pride in their city if it is cleaner.  He’s been doing it for years.

Every once in a while, people doing their part get recognized.  Here is his story in the Oakland press.

These are just two of my neighbors.  I hope to meet more.

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

