Just a Helper

We all have our Bible heroes.  We think of Peter, Paul, David, Moses and have our mental favorites.  But, some of my favorite characters are the ones who show up for a minute to do what they can, then disapear.  There weren’t chapters devoted to them, you’ll never see Charles Swindoll write a book about them with a plum-colored cover and very european depiction of them on the cover.  But they are extemely important.

They are folks like Pricilla and Aquilla.  Or the ladies who were funding Jesus’ ministry, or John Mark’s mom who offered a room for Jesus and his disciples to meet.  They are just good people who do their part so that the gospel can move forward and the church can grow.

A few weeks ago I was in Searcy.  A friend of mine was getting married and I had a few people to talk to about the work that we were doing up here.  I stopped into Midnight Oil Coffee Shop for an IBC rootbeer and bumped into an old friend: Blake Riggle.

Blake had finished school at Harding a year ago and was back in town for a different wedding.  I told him all about the things that we were doing in Pontiac: house, gardens, meeting neighbors, being good neighbors.  He nodded politlely and eventually we split up.

A few days later he sent me a message on facebook asking if it would be possible for him to move up here with us.  A few emails later, he was here.  We sat down in the living room the day after he arrived and I asked the question:

“So… what do you want to do?”

His answer could have come from any one of those guys in the Bible just doing what they can to help the mission of God.  He said, “Well, what you’re doing just sounded awesome.  I wanted to come be a part of that, so I’m here.  I don’t really know what I can do. I don’t have a lot of talents, but where do you shop the most?  I’ll try to get a job there so we can get a discount…”

And he did.  Blake starts his job at Meijer this week and will help us to get a discount on the things we need for the Micah 6 House.  This has the potential to save us a lot of money in the long run, which is amazing.

Kim and I are excited to have Blake here, in the house, and on the team.

Tags: ,

About coleyoakum

My name is Coleman Yoakum. I am formerly a student at Harding University. Today you can find me in Detroit Michigan doing what I can to expand the Kingdom of God and preparing to start an intentional community in Pontiac. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, music and politics. I am sure that all of these things will find their way to this blog from time to time. Twitter: coleyoakum Facebook: Coleman Yoakum Email: coleyoakum@gmail.com Flickr: flickr.com/photos/coleyoakum/

Leave a Reply

